Governance Committee FINAL minutes, 12_1_2016

Present: Nancy Stearns, Evelyn Bless, Jan McCarthy, Neil Smith, Chris Hughes, Nancy Manning Chair: Nancy Stearns, minutes: Evelyn

Called to order 1:08 p.m.

Approval of November minutes: motion Neil, 2nd: Nancy Manning. Approved w additional mention of action on Baxter Gibson Board application.

Re-election of directors to Board at end of their terms: Directors serve 3-year terms. To establish a regular rotating re-election of Board directors, we will start in Jan. 2017 with longest-serving, and re-elect in groups of four as follows:

- 2017: Stearns, Preston, Bless, DeMare
- 2018: Nowicke, Smith, Heiss, Bardi
- 2019: Leeper, Baxter Gibson, Mazzie

Election of officers. Board officers serve 2-year terms. The Board Nominations Committee, currently composed of Neil Smith and Diane Leeper, will contact all Board members to solicit interest in serving as an officer and prepare a slate that includes all candidates for each office. To comply with the Sunshine Law, the process will be handled as follows:

- 1. The Nominations Committee composes nemail to directors asking about their interest in serving.
- 2. Paul Berg, as ED, sends this email out to the directors.
- 3. Interested directors respond directly to Nominations Committee members.
- 4. The Nominations Committee puts together the list of all candidates for each office and presents it to the Board.

Review of Board Handbook: we reviewed to page 21.

Action item for next meeting: Request Paul Berg to attend for clarification of Personnel Committee questions.

Tabled to next month: Board Self-Assessment.

Adjourned 3:05p.m.

Next meeting: Jan. 5, 1 p.m.